Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > Alpha, Beta Software Testing Programs > Closed Alpha and Beta Programs > CLOSED - 8.2 Beta for Windows

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-22-2017, 12:05 PM   #1
dylanparry
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15
Default Speaker fill audio

Hi,

I updated to the new beta to solve the CPU issues I was having, and I can say without a doubt that it's much better than before. My laptop is running cooler than the previous version

The problem I'm having is with the audio drivers. I usually have the "speaker fill" enhancement turned on so that music in iTunes comes out of all five speakers instead of just the left/right stereo channels. Since installing the new beta however, my rear and centre speakers have been deadly silent.

I have checked that "speaker fill" is enabled, and it is. I have also tried disabling it and re-enabling it, but that makes no difference.

Any ideas?
dylanparry is offline  
Old 03-10-2017, 05:41 PM   #2
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,563
Arrow

Hello,

I'm sorry I missed your thread.
Have you tried to revert to the older driver and it worked properly again?
Also, could you check that our driver is actually being used? For a while, Microsoft was doing a test on the Insiders for the new audio inbox driver which was overriding ours (on purpose as we want to start and use it in the future).

We're making some changes around the audio so it could definitely come from us!

Kind regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline  
Old 03-12-2017, 12:27 AM   #3
dylanparry
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15
Default

Hi,

It was definitely working on the previous version of the driver. I updated to this version due to the high CPU bug that's affecting the current drivers.

I've had a look in Device Manager, and it says "Driver Provider: DisplayLink Corp." for the "dynadock Audio" device, so pretty sure it's using the correct drivers. The version number also corresponds with the beta.

I haven't tried updating to Beta 2 yet (didn't realise it had been released as the thread name in the forum hadn't changed). Will do that soon, although I won't expect it to be fixed there
dylanparry is offline  
Old 03-12-2017, 10:00 AM   #4
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,563
Arrow

Hello,

You are right that it is unlikely to be different in 8.2 Beta 2.
I believe I need to create a bug report to get this looked at by a developer.
For this, (s)he will need to reproduce it and getting your machine détails would be helpful. Taking a similar machine with identical version numbers for everyone increases the chances of speedy reproduction.

Could you confirm how your speakers are connected to the dynadock? Which model of dynadock is it?

Could you please use the Customer Support Tool which packages all détails in a ZIP?
Then you could either post the ZIP file here (only accessible to DisplayLink employees) or create a ticket with it.

And finally, where do you change "speaker fill" option?

Kind regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline  
Old 03-13-2017, 03:04 PM   #5
dylanparry
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15
Default

Hi,

Speakers are connected via front, c/sub, and rear connectors on the back of the dynadock. The model is Toshiba dynadock U3.0.

To change the speaker fill option, it's a right click on the volume control in the system tray, then:

1. Playback devices
2. Select "Speakers, dynadock audio"
3. Properties
4. Enhancements
5. Check "Speaker Fill"
6. Click "OK" until all the dialogs disappear

Zip file from the customer support tool is attached.

Thanks for looking into this.
Attached Files
File Type: zip DYLAN-LAPTOP_20170313_145302.zip (1.84 MB, 268 views)
dylanparry is offline  
Old 03-13-2017, 11:29 PM   #6
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,563
Arrow

I've just got an idea.
However, as I'm not in the office, I cannot check.

We've noticed an issue with defaulting to 2.0 audio instead of 5.1 audio and it may be what you have.
Could you check in the alternate audio settings of the dock, if you can switch from stereo to 5.1?

Kind regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline  
Old 03-14-2017, 01:35 PM   #7
dylanparry
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15
Default

Hi,

I've noticed that too. Usually when I've undocked for a while and then redocked, but it's not the case at the moment—checked and it's set to 5.1.

Thanks,
dylanparry is offline  
Old 03-31-2017, 12:40 PM   #8
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,563
Arrow

Hi Dylan,

May I use your email to communicate with you through a ticket on this?

I have created a bug report internally, but engineering might need some additional details to confirm the specific factory programming done by Toshiba on that unit so we can reproduce internally.
Also, I have an idea for a non-official hack to try for you to be able to use the performance improvement of 8.2 M0 (now released) with the old audio...

Kind regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline  
Old 03-31-2017, 05:51 PM   #9
dylanparry
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15
Default

Sure, happy for you to email me. I presume you've already got my email address via my registration here? If not, let me know how I can send it to you.

Thanks
dylanparry is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.