Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Mac Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-03-2022, 04:03 AM   #1
ksmith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 3
Default First monitor is detected but doesn't turn on

My setup is as follows:

My 2018, 15" MacBook Pro running 12.4 is plugged into a DK30C2DPPD dock, which is using two display port cables. Those display port cables go into a KVM switch. The second computer connected to the KVM switch is a Windows desktop and it works fine.

The interesting part is that on the Macbook, the DisplayLink software shows that both monitors are detected and I'm able to move applications to the monitor, but the monitor itself does not turn on/remains dark.

First monitor is a dell S2716DG, while the second monitor is a
Gigabyte M27Q.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2022-06-02 at 11.02.25 PM.jpg (16.7 KB, 2 views)
ksmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2022, 09:37 AM   #2
KatarzynaKowalczyk
DisplayLink Tech Support
 
KatarzynaKowalczyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 314
Default

Hello,

Are you using the KVM Switch to swtich between these two computers while docked?
Can you please tell me if you connect the dock directly into the MacBook do your monitors work as expected but do not work when connected via KVM Switch?

Thank you
KatarzynaKowalczyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2022, 01:19 PM   #3
ksmith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 3
Default

Yes. The monitors are plugged into the KVM switch and then plugged into the StarTech hub.

If I bypass the KVM switch completely and plug the monitors into the StarTech hub directly, everything works as expected.
ksmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2022, 01:57 PM   #4
ksmith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 3
Default

For right now, I don't necessarily suspect the hub, but rather the KVM switch. I have completely bypassed the KVM switch for now and everything works correctly. If there's any ideas on what I can/should try, let me know.
ksmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2022, 08:21 AM   #5
KatarzynaKowalczyk
DisplayLink Tech Support
 
KatarzynaKowalczyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 314
Default

Can you please gather logfiles for further analysis?
The instructions are available here: How To Report Macos Issues To Displaylink
I would like you to ensure that you are running the Support Tool when you are conneted to the KVM switch with your Mac.
Thank you.
KatarzynaKowalczyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.