Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Linux and Open Source

Old 12-11-2012, 09:33 PM   #1
Bmax1985

Default DisplayLink RHEL 6.3

Hello,
First off, I'm an admitted NOOB in Linux

I have RHEL 6.3 and would like to use a Displaylink device to drive a third monitor but am not quite sure where to start with the linux information that's posted on http://libdlo.freedesktop.org/wiki/

Seems like that site is full of mostly garbage but am I missing something? Any and all help appreciated!
Bmax1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 04:11 PM   #2
Bmax1985

Anyone have any info? I've scoured the internet trying to find a how to or the like but haven't.
Bmax1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 10:39 PM   #3
sruthj

I have RHEL 6.3 also and was migrated by my company off of windows.
I've been searching for weeks trying to find a driver for Display Link but no success.
Closest I've come is my previous post "DisplayLink support for Linux- possible solution?" in this forum, you might take a look.

There is also this:

http://nameq.wordpress.com/2011/09/2...-linux-fedora/

and this infamous page of complexity (link below). If anyone can pull a solution out of it, please post....thanks

http://libdlo.freedesktop.org/wiki/FrontPage

I've got about 12 other articles but those are the most promising.
I'm a computer support tech and my job is pretty taxing with a whole lot of proprietary stuff and research, but nothing has compared to trying to get this USB powered DisplayLink monitor to work with Linux.
I feel like a blind man trying to crack the Rosetta stone. Day 12 scouring Google with brain-burn and still defeated....

Last edited by sruthj; 02-27-2013 at 10:57 PM.
sruthj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 10:52 PM   #4
sruthj

Not sure if this is of any help, but you're welcome to give it at try. I'm had for the day

http://ftp.linux.ncsu.edu/mirror/ftp.../x86_64/debug/

>>