Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Windows Software

Old 04-23-2021, 10:15 PM   #1
Nooberd

Default Single monitor registered incorrectly as two unique displays using a USB 3.0 Dock

I'm trying to set up a USB 3.0 dock on an older HP desktop. After an hour of troubleshooting, I found out that the single ASUS monitor I have was being detected as an additional "Wired Display" (showing up as a generic non-pnp monitor in device manager). In order to get around this, I had to duplicate displays in order for the correct image to show through the monitor (which is really tough when your only true image showing is the secondary display!!).

I'm curious how to fix this. I have been using this same dock for 5 months on two other PCs (a work laptop and a personal laptop, both HP), and they don't exhibit this behavior. On those PCs, while using the dock, my display comes through as a single device (correctly identified as my ASUS monitor plugged into the dock) and as a generic pnp monitor in device manager. Yet on this desktop PC, while the ASUS monitor still shows up as a device, there is an additional "Wired Display" device showing up which must be used to display my image (if I swap to the ASUS display, nothing shows).

Any thoughts on why this is happening, and should I be concerned? I did find one source that addressed this scenario online, where the solution was to uninstall Hyper-V. I don't have that installed, so doesn't seem relevant. I've cycled through updating and reinstalling drivers, changing ports, etc, and haven't found a solution.

---