Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Windows Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-08-2019, 01:06 AM   #1
flat_line
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Default ASUS VS239H on D6000 Stuck at 640x480

I recently purchased a Dell D6000 and am stuck at 640x480 on one monitor (ASUS VS239H) connected by HDMI. I am using DP for the other monitor, which displays at normal resolution. The HDMI port on the hub seems to be working fine as I have tried HDMI on the working monitor and it displays at normal resolution. I am currently using DisplayLink driver 9.2 M0. I have installed the firmware update for the D6000.

So far I have tried multiple solutions to no avail:
  • The ASUS VS239H only has HDMI, DVI, and VGA, so DP is not an option. I have tried a DVI to HDMI cord and got the same results.
  • I have tried the connection on both a Dell laptop and my desktop, both with the same results. The Dell laptop is using USB-C and the desktop uses USB-A 3.0. I get the same results in each.
  • I uninstalled 9.2 M0 driver and reverted to 8.6 M1 with similar results
  • I disabled Intel Graphics in both the BIOS and Device Manager and have installed the latest nVidia driver but this did not resolve the issue.
I have attached logs from the DisplayLink Support Tool. I hope you guys will have more success in diagnosing the issue.
Attached Files
File Type: zip DL_Windows_Logs_20190807_203846.zip (3.44 MB, 3 views)
flat_line is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 08:18 AM   #2
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,628
Arrow

Hello Flatline,

Thank you for the details and logs, that's very helpful.
640x480 is the standard safe mode. The monitor has a memory that must be read to get the detailed timing for each resolution. When that memory cannot be read, or reading returns invalid results, the standard dictates one must select the safe mode.

I see some issue reading one of the monitors. But I also see the EDID (monitor identification file) was read at least once and saved on the disk. That file has an invalid checksum, so the timing aren't supposed to be used.

I am enquiring with our engineering department to see if there's a way around this.
Would you have another HDMI cable you could try?

Kind regards,
Alban
Ref 30415/30416
__________________
Alban Rampon
Senior product manager, universal docking stations and accessories
"DisplayLink is proud to be a Synaptics brand."

Where to download the latest DisplayLink drivers
How to clean up a corrupted installation
How to report issues to DisplayLink for a speedy resolution
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 12:20 AM   #3
flat_line
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlbanRampon View Post

Would you have another HDMI cable you could try?
Yes I've tried multiple HDMI cables as well as a DVI to HDMI cable with the same results. Even on different computers using USB-A and USB-C I get the same results as well.
flat_line is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 08:17 AM   #4
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,628
Arrow

Thank you.

Engineering is preparing a development build to see if ignoring the invalid checksum is enough for your monitor. We will probably enable that through a registry key to keep a DisplayPort compliant behaviour as standard.

Kind regards,
Alban
__________________
Alban Rampon
Senior product manager, universal docking stations and accessories
"DisplayLink is proud to be a Synaptics brand."

Where to download the latest DisplayLink drivers
How to clean up a corrupted installation
How to report issues to DisplayLink for a speedy resolution
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 10:32 PM   #5
flat_line
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Default

Thank you for the follow-up and dedication to resolving the issue. Eagerly awaiting your reply.
flat_line is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 01:36 PM   #6
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,628
Arrow

Hello flat_line,

I have a developement version of the software to share with you as preview.
As this isn't public software, I am creating a private ticket to share this with you, along with instructions on how you can activate the workaround for invalid monitor information.

Kind regards,
Alban
16510
__________________
Alban Rampon
Senior product manager, universal docking stations and accessories
"DisplayLink is proud to be a Synaptics brand."

Where to download the latest DisplayLink drivers
How to clean up a corrupted installation
How to report issues to DisplayLink for a speedy resolution
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 04:17 PM   #7
vonhelmst
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 5
Unhappy Also Stuck at 640x480

Hello,

I am experiencing the same issue.
Tried multiple cables and still stuck at 640x480.
Can I also get a copy of the dev build?
vonhelmst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 06:23 PM   #8
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,628
Arrow

Hello,

We need the logs (last link in my signature) to see if that's actually the same issue of monitor returning an erroneous checksum.
That resolution is the only "safe" one, so any reading issue would lead to it.

Development builds are not for general consumption because they are only designed and tested to validate a particular bug fix. It can be shared privately once we know it might be useful.

Kind regards,
Alban
__________________
Alban Rampon
Senior product manager, universal docking stations and accessories
"DisplayLink is proud to be a Synaptics brand."

Where to download the latest DisplayLink drivers
How to clean up a corrupted installation
How to report issues to DisplayLink for a speedy resolution
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 07:57 PM   #9
vonhelmst
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 5
Default Attaching DL Support Tool Files

Support tool files attached.
Attached Files
File Type: zip DisplayLink Support Files.zip (1.65 MB, 6 views)
vonhelmst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 01:48 AM   #10
vonhelmst
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 5
Default Support files posted

Alban,
Have you had time to review my posted support files?
vonhelmst is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.