Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Windows Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2017, 12:08 PM   #1
robbo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 2
Default Night Light with D6000 dock

Night light feature in the latest released build of Windows 10 does not work with the dock's display adapter. Driver v. 8.3.2008.0 (9/12/2017)

The dock’s hardware id starts with USB\VID_17E9&PID_60 which I assume is the cause for EnableGammaRamp key failing to have due effect. What is key for the more advanced piece of equipment? Could you enable the ID series in the upcoming driver release?

Thank you.

Last edited by robbo; 12-01-2017 at 12:52 PM.
robbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 01:31 PM   #2
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,563
Arrow

You are correct.
That feature has not been developed so it is not expect to work.

Currently on Windows 10, using F.lux gives almost identical functionality to the new night light setting. Had we known that it would become inboxed, maybe we could have reviewed our priorities at the time, but we did not. F.lux did some development work to enable this.

Doing colour correction requires development and is not just a switch to flick.

Also, this will not be possible on HDMI below 4K on that hardware. HDMI output includes passive DisplayPort++ as it is (roughly) HDMI signals over a DisplayPort plug. This is a technical limitation.

The feature priority is currently under review. The upcoming release, 8.4, is already frozen as it is under final tests before getting out.

Regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2017, 08:36 PM   #3
robbo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 2
Default

You know your hardware better, but f.lux has limitations of its own. Screenshots taken when f.lux is active have reddish hue.

Even unofficial expansion of support of the feature to the chip within D6000 will be appreciated, if it is simple matter of adding qualification string for another device. Then it will be up to users to sort out limitations related to certain resolutions and connection types.

Thank you.

Last edited by robbo; 12-20-2017 at 12:23 PM.
robbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 09:56 AM   #4
Wim
Senior Member
 
Wim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,564
Default

Flux is now supported on some devices and can be enabled by following this article:

https://support.displaylink.com/know...ticles/1886413

Wim
Wim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 06:54 PM   #5
havranek1024
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlbanRampon View Post
Also, this will not be possible on HDMI below 4K on that hardware. HDMI output includes passive DisplayPort++ as it is (roughly) HDMI signals over a DisplayPort plug. This is a technical limitation.
I understand that because it's a technical limitation this will not be supported even in future versions of the driver. Is there any way to overcome this limitation? Using active DP -> HDMI converter? Any software workaround? Just anything that would make f.lux or night light work, as it's extremely uncomfortable to work without it.
havranek1024 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 07:08 PM   #6
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,563
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by havranek1024 View Post
I understand that because it's a technical limitation this will not be supported even in future versions of the driver. Is there any way to overcome this limitation? Using active DP -> HDMI converter? Any software workaround? Just anything that would make f.lux or night light work, as it's extremely uncomfortable to work without it.
Hello,
Which brand and model of end product are you using?
Kind regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 07:16 PM   #7
havranek1024
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 3
Default

Hi,
I'm using i-tec 3x 4K Docking Station (CATRIPLE4KDOCKPD). I'm not using it's native HDMI output (which is DP alt-mode), but a passive DP -> HDMI converter. I believe those DP ports are driven by DL-6950 chip.

Regards,
Michał
havranek1024 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 12:08 PM   #8
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,563
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by havranek1024 View Post
Hi,
I'm using i-tec 3x 4K Docking Station (CATRIPLE4KDOCKPD). I'm not using it's native HDMI output (which is DP alt-mode), but a passive DP -> HDMI converter. I believe those DP ports are driven by DL-6950 chip.

Regards,
Michał
Hello Michał,
Using a passive adapter means DP++, which means (roughly) HDMI signals over the DP plug.
I am afraid you'd need an active adapter so DisplayPort out is used.
But, before you spend money, could you confirm monitor make and model? I need to check its pixel clock...
Kind regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 05:18 PM   #9
havranek1024
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 3
Default

Sure, my display is Samsung LS24E390HL/EN.
Thanks for help, those technical details are way over my head

As I understand, no software workaround is possible?

Regards,
Michał
havranek1024 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2020, 01:32 PM   #10
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,563
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by havranek1024 View Post
Sure, my display is Samsung LS24E390HL/EN.
Thanks for help, those technical details are way over my head

As I understand, no software workaround is possible?

Regards,
Michał
Hello Michał,

From DisplayLink, this needs an active adapter for your display.

But, long before Night Mode was added to Windows, F.lux wrote software for most platforms to achieve blue light reduction.
They have added a function for DisplayLink when EnableGammaRamp is not helpful.
It works differently, as software cannot easily replace the hardware block, and therefore has some drawbacks: mouse cursor isn't "filtered" (so I recommend you switch to black mouse cursor), and printscreen will be "filtered" (but there's a key shortcut to enable/disable f.lux layer). You need to remove the EnableGammaRamp registry if you wish to use F.lux, otherwise you will get twice the effect on the DisplayPort display.
https://justgetflux.com/ is where to get F.lux from.

Kind regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.