Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Windows Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-13-2019, 08:22 AM   #1
p.cip
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 1
Default Dell D6000 Display Port

Hi All,

I just purchased a Dell D6000 docking station but it seems the display ports are not working.

When i connect my HP Z27i using HDMI all works ok, but i get nothing using display ports.When connecting using display ports in Windows 10 the display resolution is grayed out showing 640x480.

When i use a display port to hdmi cable it does work but without correct resolution, not showing the exact monitor resolution.

Any ideas?
Attached Files
File Type: zip DL_Windows_Logs_20190413_091103.zip (1.43 MB, 2 views)
p.cip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 07:14 PM   #2
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,573
Arrow

Hello,

Thank you for the logs and description, that's most useful.
We are already investigating a similar report found in internal testing.
I have nonetheless created a separte bug report to make sure your case is also investigated.
The resolution of 640x480 is a "safe" resolution used when the monitor details can't be identified: it's VGA. I see the errors in your logs leading to that 640x480 being offered so I believe we have got enough data to start.

Kind regards,
Alban

Ref 29883 - D6000 DisplayPort only reports 640x480 on HPZ27i monitor
__________________
Alban Rampon
Senior product manager, universal docking stations and accessories
"DisplayLink is proud to be a Synaptics brand. Our emails have changed to synaptics.com but our commitment to customers remain the same."

Where to download the latest Windows drivers
How to clean up a corrupted installation
How to report issues to DisplayLink for a speedy resolution
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 12:50 PM   #3
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,573
Arrow

Hello P.Cip,

The logs indicate that the DisplayPort link cannot "train". This is a part where the sender and receiver send specific known patterns and, based on error level, decide at which speed they will talk.
This is generally the sign of a bad connection, the link, and different from being unable to read the monitor identification details I initially thought about.

Could it be possible for you to try an alternative DisplayPort cable?
If this doesn't work, we will need to proceed with purchasing a HP Z27i monitor.

Kind regards,
Alban
__________________
Alban Rampon
Senior product manager, universal docking stations and accessories
"DisplayLink is proud to be a Synaptics brand. Our emails have changed to synaptics.com but our commitment to customers remain the same."

Where to download the latest Windows drivers
How to clean up a corrupted installation
How to report issues to DisplayLink for a speedy resolution
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.