Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Windows Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-01-2017, 02:57 PM   #1
sinfante
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1
Default NVIDIA Card Not Active When Using DisplayLink

I have a Lenovo laptop with an integrated Intel HD graphics card AND an NVIDIA GT 730M for gaming. When my laptop is not using DisplayLink via my docking station, the NVIDIA card is my default - no problem. As soon as I dock my laptop to use my two external monitors the NVIDIA card is set to Inactive.

I ran DXIDAG and have two Display tabs when docked - Display 1 and Display 2 - both with the Intel card under the Render tab. Also, when I run the NVIDIA Control Panel, I get the message that says "You are not currently using a display attached to an NVIDIA GPU."

Am I missing something in the DisplayLink config that is preventing my NVIDIA card from being used when my laptop is docked? Any assistance would be appreciated...I really want to use the higher end card when playing EVE Online.

Thanks in advance...
sinfante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2017, 04:02 PM   #2
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,597
Arrow

Hello Sinfante,

With Windows 10 Anniversary Update, the graphics card chosen by Windows in the card used for POST (boot). As you've observed, it tends to be the integrated, low end, card.
The current workaround is to disable the low end graphics card, if the platform allows it, to force the Windows kernel mode graphics driver to use the card which is left...
Unfortunately, this is part of the OS and not something DisplayLink can change. I'm discussing it with Microsoft, but it would help if you could*you use the Microsoft Windows Feedback Hub saying the following:
The indirect display driver seems to be using the low end Intel integrated graphics instead of using my high end graphics card. This is affecting the performance of the games as my high end GPU is not being used.

We've flagged this as a bug, but we need more people to report this to Microsoft to get it prioritised higher in their development.

Kind regards,
Alban
__________________
Alban Rampon
Senior product manager, universal docking stations and accessories
"DisplayLink is proud to be a Synaptics brand. Our emails have changed to synaptics.com but our commitment to customers remain the same."

Where to download the latest Windows drivers
How to clean up a corrupted installation
How to report issues to DisplayLink for a speedy resolution
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2017, 01:38 PM   #3
Marcin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1
Default

Hi Alban,

I'm experiencing the same issue. Does it mean that it has not been resolved in the 1703 windows build? Is there any particular issue submitted that we can up-vote?

Thanks!
Marcin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2017, 01:54 PM   #4
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,597
Arrow

Hi Marcin,

The Windows Feedback Hub is within your installation of Windows. I don't know if you can upvote existing content or will simply post a voluntary message to report it as I wrote.

Creators Update v1703 doesn't have any change compared to Anniversary Update v1607 regarding this.

Kind regards,
Alban
__________________
Alban Rampon
Senior product manager, universal docking stations and accessories
"DisplayLink is proud to be a Synaptics brand. Our emails have changed to synaptics.com but our commitment to customers remain the same."

Where to download the latest Windows drivers
How to clean up a corrupted installation
How to report issues to DisplayLink for a speedy resolution
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 09:23 PM   #5
Zibby76
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
Default Hello

just disable the weaker graphic chip in "device manager" and the discrete one will work just fine with any DisplayLink device...
Zibby76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 11:53 PM   #6
aiwapro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 5
Default

Perhaps Windows or DisplayLink updates have enabled this, as I got this working by turning on the laptop display in the Windows display settings, and then opening the nVidia Control Panel. In there, I was able to select the apps I wanted to run on the nVidia GPU. When I open those apps, and look at Windows Task Manager, the GPU is in-use. I can tell a difference in performance as well.
aiwapro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2020, 02:58 PM   #7
dejudicibus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zibby76 View Post
just disable the weaker graphic chip in "device manager" and the discrete one will work just fine with any DisplayLink device...
It does NOT work. Even if you disable Intel graphics by Device Manager, the monitor is NOT seen connected to NVIDIA GPU.
dejudicibus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.