Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Windows Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-25-2013, 07:06 PM   #11
luiset83
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 48
Default

I have a similar issue here:
http://www.displaylink.org/forum/sho...9&postcount=10

This other thread looks to be the same issue:
http://www.displaylink.org/forum/showthread.php?t=62267

Seems like the commonality is NVIDIA drivers with the 7.4 M2 software. For me, 7.4 M0 still works (under Windows 8.1) as expected -- link here: http://displaylink.com/support/sla.php?fileid=98 This is a temporary workaround until DisplayLink sorts out their NVIDIA bug...

Last edited by luiset83; 11-25-2013 at 07:08 PM.
luiset83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 12:12 AM   #12
jborland
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 12
Default Not to seem dense, but

How would one disable the GPU in BIOS?

My machine has had windows 8 shipped on it. I used the UEFI method of getting to the BIOS screen, but there were no options there to make any changes to the display or video cards.
jborland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 09:45 AM   #13
JamesH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,523
Default

Hi,

Thanks for trying - I've checked and this looks like another issue that is fixed in the next release due out in the first half of December.

Thanks,
James
JamesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 12:24 PM   #14
jborland
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 12
Default Any chance of getting a beta copy?

I really am quite hampered by this issue.
jborland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 03:04 PM   #15
nedra
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Default so when is this issue going to be resolved???

If they are fixing an issue that will be released the beginning of December why on earth can't they fix this issue?

You are not alone in having to deal with this issue
nedra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 03:14 PM   #16
JamesH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,523
Default

Hi,

My previous point was that the issue which has been fixed is identical to this issue so I expect this issue to be fixed as well.

Thanks,
James
JamesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 05:49 PM   #17
nedra
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Default Missed the point

Sorry I guess I missed the point. I guess it will be a wait & see. If it does resolve the problem I guess I will download the update & then 8.1
nedra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 05:50 PM   #18
jborland
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 12
Default Fyi

I attempted to go backwards as suggested by luiset83. I was able to do so, but the situation has persisted.
jborland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 08:36 PM   #19
nedra
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Default Update resolving this issue

Will the members of this thread be notified when this "fix" is available?
nedra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 04:42 PM   #20
jborland
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 12
Thumbs down Version 7.5M0 is of no help

I happened to see that V7.5M0 was available this morning. I downloaded and installed it. Nothing

So, then I uninstalled, ran the "cleaner", and reinstalled (rebooting in between every step).

Nothing.
jborland is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
driver 7.4, dynadock, dynalink, qosmio, windows 8

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.