Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Enabled Products > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-25-2021, 07:09 PM   #1
just joshing
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 2
Default DisplayLink Docking station with HDMI switch issue

I finally found the perfect DisplayLink docking station that worked for all my devices

Docking Station VisionTek VT4000 DisplayLink

Computers:
Laptop1: Surface Pro 4 (Windows 10)
Laptop2: MacBook Pro (early 2015)
Laptop3: Toshiba Tecra W50-A (Quadro K2100M graphics)
(All are running the latest drivers installed from DisplayLink)

Monitors:
Mon1: Dell UW3419W (34" Ultrawide)
Mon2: Dell UW2720Q (27")

Configuration:
1: Laptop_--> VT4000 docking station --Mon1 (DP)
2: Laptop_-->HDMI switch --> VT4000 docking station --> Mon2 (HDMI)

I use an HDMI switch since I also have a PC and a Apple TV which share Mon2. Makes my life easier.

For whatever reason, configuration 2 does not work with the Toshiba device (Laptop 3). It works with the other laptops.
When I take the HDMI switch out of the equation then I am able to get dual display at native resolutions on both monitors with Laptop3.


I have no issues with any of my other devices going through an HDMI switch even HDCP devices like my Apple TV work fine through the switch. I've also tried two different HDMI switches.

The other weird thing is I am not getting a No signal on Mon2. The monitor is detected and the resolution shows (3840x2160) under display settings but the screen is black. I can't figure out why using a switch would be a problem, Does anyone have any ideas?
just joshing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2021, 09:34 AM   #2
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,626
Default

Hello,
The VT4000 does not have any HDMI input, so your diagram 2 will indeed not work.
Regards,
Alban
__________________
Alban Rampon
Senior product manager, universal docking stations and accessories
"DisplayLink is proud to be a Synaptics brand."

Where to download the latest DisplayLink drivers
How to clean up a corrupted installation
How to report issues to DisplayLink for a speedy resolution
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2021, 03:15 AM   #3
just joshing
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 2
Default

Sorry I missed your reply....thought the forum was inactive.

And yes I know the VT4000 doesn't have an HDMI input. The only input is the USB-C cable from my laptop.


My diagram was wrong.
Laptop_--> VT4000 docking station -->HDMI switch --> Mon2 (HDMI)

The docking station has two DP/HDMI outputs which connect to my monitors. I can get either DP or HDMI docking station monitor output to work reliably unless the switch is used. The switch is a 60Hz 4k HDMI switch which allows me to easily change multiple input devices so I can't see why it would make a difference.
just joshing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.