Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Linux and Open Source

Old 06-10-2017, 11:14 PM   #1
williamdeangelis

Default Ubuntu 17.04 - Everything works great except there is a weird square behind the mouse

Hi all,

Took me a bit to get everything working but I have a new HP Pavilion 17t laptop that I was able to install Ubuntu 17.04 on and am using a plugable USB 3.0 docking station so that I can have dual monitors in addition to the laptop screen. Everything is working great except one really annoying thing. For some weird reason, whenever I select text or am typing text under the mouse cursor, there is a square, probably about 100px by 100px behind the mouse that completely covers the text where the mouse is. Here is a screenshot of what I'm seeing.

https://goo.gl/photos/8zJgSnEbFhRxPaWQ8

You will see my cursor is over the text with the square behind it.

As I'm a developer, I use text editors 90% of the time I'm on the computer. Selecting text has become a major PITA because I often don't know if I selected the right text until I move my mouse off what I just selected.

I feel like I'm soooo close. Have updated my drivers to the nvidia latest. Have updated my DL drivers to the lastest too.

Thoughts?

Thx in advance!

William

PS. Am attaching my support zip that contains logs and any information you might need.
Attached Files
File Type: zip william-hp_2017-06-10T15:01:03.412868.zip (974.2 KB, 7 views)
williamdeangelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2017, 04:00 PM   #2
mlukaszek

This is interesting. Is the same visible if you make an actual print screen, and not the photo? Is it just this cursor shape that is affected? Do you see the same in any application?

Thanks.
Michal
mlukaszek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2017, 05:08 PM   #3
williamdeangelis

Hi Michal,