Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Windows Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-22-2021, 10:21 AM   #1
Jarda
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 7
Default randomly freezes

Hi, i have bought new itec CADUAL4KDOCKPD,

connected to HP ProBook 450 G8 laptop, (laptop is month old, new hp drivers, latests WIN10), with 2Benq displays, lid close
problem is, it freezes time, to time, seems randomly, sometimes 3x per hour, sometimes works properly few hours.

On USB2, mouse freezes for 1sec
On USB-C, mouse freezes for 1sec, monitors go black, for 1 sec, and then reconnects.
So i have to move programs (open windows)back on location, where i need them.

I have tried newest driwer, reinstaled few times (with clean utility), I tried also 10.1 M1.
Changed USB-C Cable..
went throught https://support.displaylink.com/know...from-repeatedl, tried what was possible...
but still problem persists, log attached
Attached Files
File Type: zip DL_Windows_Logs_20211122_103918.zip (3.18 MB, 0 views)

Last edited by Jarda; 11-22-2021 at 01:33 PM.
Jarda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 07:41 AM   #2
KatarzynaKowalczyk
DisplayLink Tech Support
 
KatarzynaKowalczyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 256
Default

Hello Jarda,

DisplayLink chip and driver do not drive your mouse.
I believe you are experiencing USB communication issues, and that's why mouse stops moving and the display vanish: the dock is disconnected by the computer and reconnected.

Some of the machines now hide the some settings from the Windows 10 power plan settings (for instance PCIe ASPM, step 11 of the FAQ you linked).
Here is an utility to disable these settings to gauge impact easily: https://synaptics.com/products/displ...ndows-lpm-tool. It also includes another executable to re-enable that later, if you wish.
Could you try and let us know if that has an impact?

Thank you,
Katarzyna
KatarzynaKowalczyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 10:09 AM   #3
Jarda
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 7
Default

Solution is probably hidden in downgrading an Intel graphic driver and using DisplayLink driver from laptop manufacturer.
https://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Notebo...r/td-p/7363394
For me, version 25 is not avalaible (i have never card), im now testing intel 30.0.1009805 (SP113541) with DisplayLink 10.1.2762.0 (SP128704).
i will report tommorow.

Last edited by Jarda; 11-25-2021 at 01:04 PM.
Jarda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2021, 08:35 AM   #4
Jarda
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 7
Default

hello again, so after 2days of testing, i have to confirm, the problem was solved. i have had to downgrade drivers.
I didnt use/test utility provided for PCIe ASPM settings.
Jarda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2021, 06:49 PM   #5
Aqualung
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 3
Default

Having a similar issue with my new DisplayLink-based QGeeM docking station on a new Thunderbolt 4 LG Gram computer. Running a 10 ft. high quality USB-C cable between the two (is that too long?).

@Jarda, would you mind describing how you fixed it?

Last edited by Aqualung; 12-10-2021 at 06:52 PM.
Aqualung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2021, 10:45 AM   #6
Jarda
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aqualung View Post
Having a similar issue with my new DisplayLink-based QGeeM docking station on a new Thunderbolt 4 LG Gram computer. Running a 10 ft. high quality USB-C cable between the two (is that too long?).

@Jarda, would you mind describing how you fixed it?
My laptop is HP, based on link up here, i needed differnt graphics card drivers, so i went to hp warranty web, insert serial number of my laptop, find drivers for graphic card, download, Unpack to C:/SWsetup/SPxxx, and from device manager pointed to them (update drivers for intel Iris, "browse my computer").
Jarda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2021, 05:53 PM   #7
Aqualung
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 3
Default

@jarda: Oh, so it's not the DisplayLink drivers that you downgraded, but the laptop graphics drivers, right?
Aqualung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2021, 09:22 AM   #8
Jarda
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aqualung View Post
@jarda: Oh, so it's not the DisplayLink drivers that you downgraded, but the laptop graphics drivers, right?
Graphics driver and displaylink also, the ones from "windows update" might be newest and latest, but doesnt work properly.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot 2021-12-14 090429.jpg (19.5 KB, 0 views)
Jarda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.