Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > Alpha, Beta Software Testing Programs > Closed Alpha and Beta Programs > CLOSED: 5.5 Software Release

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-18-2011, 04:43 PM   #1
mmetzinger
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Exclamation Screen Freeze - Multiple Units

Hello, I am an IT admin and I purchased 6 DynaDock Vs from Toshiba that utilize the DisplayLink software. These units are split across two different models of laptops, 5 HP Probooks and a Sony VAIO(my laptop). Since we have purchased the units we have had nothing but problems. The external display will constantly freeze on users and myself after a random time interval and while the most simple things are being performed. The last time I clicked on the start menu and it froze. I have installed the latest drivers for the DynaDock from Toshiba's website and the latest DisplayLink driver from your website, 5.5M1. I have already gotten 6 replacement units from Toshiba just in case and that didn't change anything. Actually the one unit i got out for my laptop seemed liked it locked up even faster than before.

Just some quick specs about our setup:
5 HP Probooks running Windows 7 32bit - 2GB RAM.... i think
1 sony VAIO running Windows 7 64bit - 6GB RAM

Can anyone help me? I have uploaded the error logs from my machine as gathered by the support tool I found on the website.
Attached Files
File Type: zip 20110118_110755.zip (328.1 KB, 990 views)
mmetzinger is offline  
Old 01-19-2011, 01:12 PM   #2
Pawel
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 214
Lightbulb

Could you please run the debug tool again and make sure a SystemDetails.txt file is in the zip folder? You can delete a memory.dmp file if the zip file is too large to upload.

Thanks
Pawel is offline  
Old 01-27-2011, 08:03 PM   #3
Jeff Fitting
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Default DynaDock V display freezes - must cycle power on dock

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmetzinger View Post
Hello, I am an IT admin and I purchased 6 DynaDock Vs from Toshiba that utilize the DisplayLink software. These units are split across two different models of laptops, 5 HP Probooks and a Sony VAIO(my laptop). Since we have purchased the units we have had nothing but problems. The external display will constantly freeze on users and myself after a random time interval and while the most simple things are being performed. The last time I clicked on the start menu and it froze. I have installed the latest drivers for the DynadDock from Toshiba's website and the latest DisplayLink driver from your website, 5.5M1. I have already gotten 6 replacement units from Toshiba just in case and that didn't change anything. Actually the one unit i got out for my laptop seemed liked it locked up even faster than before.

Just some quick specs about our setup:
5 HP Probooks running Windows 7 32bit - 2GB RAM.... i think
1 sony VAIO running Windows 7 64bit - 6GB RAM

Can anyone help me? I have uploaded the error logs from my machine as gathered by the support tool I found on the website.
Hi there!

I am having the exact same experience.

I too am an IT admin who purchased 5 DynaDock V units in December. All are running with new Dell Vostro 3300 laptops also purchased in December. All have the latest video drivers, etc. Intel Core i5, Windows 7 64bit, NVIDIA GeForce 310M adapter. DisplayLink Version is 5.6.29519.0

All five systems have the exact same problems.

After contacting Toshiba about this problem the support tech directed me to the DisplayLink driver page and told me that the 5.6 beta version of driver will fix the problem. I installed it on all machines and the problem remains. I called Toshiba again and they recommended that I return all 5 for replacement. Somehow i think the replacements will be clones of the ones i have so i am not convinced that will fix this problem, especially when there are so many others out there with the same complaint.

I found and ran the DisplayLink support tool on a Dynadock V that recently froze and attached the resulting zip file here.

Anyway, here's a recap of my symptoms: Fresh boot up in the morning. Perhaps once or twice a day the display connected to the Dynadock freezes, making the user think the mouse froze. They click and wiggle the mouse not realizing they are actually clicking on things since everything else about the Dynadock is still working fine (keyboard, mouse and Ethernet.) You can open the laptop lid and see the live desktop so they know the PC is not frozen. Unplug the USB and the frozen display still shows the same image. I have to pull the power plug out of the back of the Dynadock, rebooting it, in order to clear the problem, until the next time.

There doesn't seem to be anything repeatable about it. The users aren't doing any stressful activity at the time. Of course they are stressed immediately afterward!

Cycling power on the Dynadock causes problems when breaking the Ethernet connection to one of our database applications.

I don't think the problem is thermal since it can happen first thing in the morning or anytime in the day. In any case the crash is so bad it required a hard reboot.

I hope we can resolve this problem! Please contact me if you guys need any further testing from me. I anxiously await your reply.

Jeff

update: I forgot to mention the BSOD errors that we have been having too. It could be related. Three of the machines have had one or more BSOD with a STOP 0x00000116 related to the Nvidia driver nvlddmkm.sys. This only happens when the Dynadock is connected but happens less frequently than the display freeze problems. I tried to upload a DisplayLink support tool ZIP file for this other machine but the upload kept failing.
Attached Files
File Type: zip 20110127_143105.zip (857.2 KB, 995 views)

Last edited by Jeff Fitting; 01-27-2011 at 08:56 PM. Reason: New Information - BSOD
Jeff Fitting is offline  
Old 01-31-2011, 11:44 AM   #4
Pawel
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 214
Lightbulb

Hi Jeff,

Unfortunately by looking at the logs, I can confirm that most likely it is a firmware/hardware issue so I'd also recommend replacing the units.

Regards
Pawel is offline  
Old 01-31-2011, 12:36 PM   #5
Jeff Fitting
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Default DynaDock V display freezes - must cycle power on dock

OK, can you point out anything specific in the logs that leads you to the firmware/hardware fault conclusion? It might be helpful to others who are having a similar problem.

Also, I'd like to have a way to determine if the replacement units I receive do not have the problem.

Thanks!
Jeff Fitting is offline  
Old 01-31-2011, 04:35 PM   #6
Pawel
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 214
Lightbulb

The connection with a device couldn't be established:

Connect
Firmware version (BCD): 0103
Status: F1002001 Asic Blanking=None
Packet size 512
Reap: async (0, 0) failed : usb_reap: timeout error
Connect failed sys::Exception: USB transmit failed
Sleeping for 500 ms

You can try a different USB cable to make sure that its not the issue or power cycle the device to try to get it working. If none of those suggestions help, then you should replace the units. You will only be able to see whether the replacements has the same problem or not, by plugging the dock and seeing if it is working, alternatively by sending the log files to us for analysis.

Regards
Pawel is offline  
Old 02-23-2011, 01:29 PM   #7
peiffer83
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Hi,

Has this problem been resolved with new units or does it still exist? We bought a brand new Toshiba Dynadock U and it has the same problem. I attached the file that was generated by running the support tool. I hit gather support information after the problem occurred. The problem can be corrected by unplugging the dynadock.
Attached Files
File Type: zip 20110223_095807.zip (428.6 KB, 999 views)

Last edited by peiffer83; 02-23-2011 at 02:15 PM.
peiffer83 is offline  
Old 02-25-2011, 05:40 PM   #8
seaslate
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Default Possible solution

I was having this exact same problem with my dynadock u. As I was trying to work it out I realized that whenever I would do something on my laptop that cause to the User Account Control to activate, my monitor would be come active, update and freeze as soon as I hit "allow". That made me think that it must be a software not a hardware issue. So I went into the control panel, user accounts, my user profile and unchecked the box that turned the User Account Control on. I restarted my computer and have not had a problem since and that was a few days when it was freezing 2-3 times a day. It may be a fix, time will tell.

Hope this helps.
seaslate is offline  
Old 02-25-2011, 07:05 PM   #9
peiffer83
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seaslate View Post
I was having this exact same problem with my dynadock u. As I was trying to work it out I realized that whenever I would do something on my laptop that cause to the User Account Control to activate, my monitor would be come active, update and freeze as soon as I hit "allow". That made me think that it must be a software not a hardware issue. So I went into the control panel, user accounts, my user profile and unchecked the box that turned the User Account Control on. I restarted my computer and have not had a problem since and that was a few days when it was freezing 2-3 times a day. It may be a fix, time will tell.

Hope this helps.
Well this is happening on Windows XP, are you on windows 7?
peiffer83 is offline  
 

Tags
freeze, locking up, screen freezing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.