Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Linux and Open Source

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-12-2015, 03:50 PM   #1
dbhc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
Default [solved] stops after 'Adding udev rule'

I got it working on Elementary OS: Freya
Here are the steps I took.

1. Update the distribution.
2. run:
sudo ./displaylink-driver-xxxxx.run --keep --noexec
3. edit the install script to have DLM upstart job run outside the if statement
(step 3 was necessary as neither if statement would trigger for me.)

Best of luck!

Last edited by dbhc; 08-12-2015 at 06:07 PM. Reason: fixed issue (please update thread title)
dbhc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 01:09 AM   #2
muffinjello
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
Question Step four?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbhc View Post
I got it working on Elementary OS: Freya
Here are the steps I took.

1. Update the distribution.
2. run:
sudo ./displaylink-driver-xxxxx.run --keep --noexec
3. edit the install script to have DLM upstart job run outside the if statement
(step 3 was necessary as neither if statement would trigger for me.)

Best of luck!
I'm new to elementary OS and I don't know what to do next, to tell the computer to install the script.
I edit the .sh script to contain:.. (line 270-ish)
HTML Code:
echo "Adding udev rule for DisplayLink DL-3xxx/5xxx devices"
  add_udev_rule
  echo "Starting DLM upstart job - OUTSIDE IF STATEMENT @CUSTOM EDIT"
  add_upstart_script
  add_pm_script "upstart"
  start displaylink
  if [ "upstart" == "$SYSTEMINITDAEMON" ]; then
    echo "Starting DLM upstart job"
    add_upstart_script
    add_pm_script "upstart"
    start displaylink
  elif [ "systemd" == "$SYSTEMINITDAEMON" ]; then
    echo "Starting DLM systemd service"
    add_systemd_service
    add_pm_script "systemd"
    systemctl start displaylink.service
  fi
However, doing the fancy chmod +x on the shell script and running it, does nothing. Executing the original .run appears to execute the original (unfixed) file, and I can't execute a folder.

Please, tell me what you did. :S
muffinjello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 01:29 AM   #3
dbhc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
Default

hey,

it's been a while so I'm grainy on the details but if I'm remembering correctly, all I did was take the
Code:
    echo "Starting DLM upstart job"
    add_upstart_script
    add_pm_script "upstart"
    start displaylink
outside of the if statement (cut and paste before the if statement). So, it no longer checks "upstart" == "$SYSTEMINITDAEMON".

Try that and if it doesn't work, let me know what error message you get.
I'll try to debug it with you on my machine.

Last edited by dbhc; 12-15-2015 at 01:30 AM. Reason: format code
dbhc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 06:32 PM   #4
evanovka
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by muffinjello View Post
However, doing the fancy chmod +x on the shell script and running it, does nothing. Executing the original .run appears to execute the original (unfixed) file, and I can't execute a folder.

Please, tell me what you did. :S
after some trying & code investigation, here is what did the job:
you have to run the script with the option "install", i.e. do
script.sh install
... duh....
evanovka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2017, 11:29 PM   #5
wordyallen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1
Default Driver Corrupted

I don't have any code with respect to the 'upstart'. The script turns into a mess at line 500. I downloaded diff versions and using diff computers. still a corrupted generated script. Does anyone have any suggestions or the original?


-Joe

Code:
....
if test "$keep" = n; then
    cd $TMPROOT
    /bin/rm -rf $tmpdir
fi
eval $finish; exit $res
����X���nϒ.��m۶m�޻m�w��n۶m۶m��ۿs��=3s�~�����[�kUUV�S�Oe��~�]t���ß�����+���힑����������O;;;#+��������@@�`k��?�������BG�ld�Bkn��
wordyallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 06:59 AM   #6
mlukaszek
Senior Member
 
mlukaszek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 386
Default

It's not corrupted, it's a self-extracting shell "archive" with installer logic created with makeself.

You can
Code:
export SYSTEMINITDAEMON=upstart
before you run the installer, then you wouldn't have to modify the script at all I think.

Cheers,
Michal
mlukaszek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 02:54 PM   #7
SarahC214
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 2
Default you say all this like its obvious, but...

for someone who only knows Python and saying I even know that is a stretch, this doesn't help at all. for one, my install.sh script doesnt have the part of that if statement that you all are talking about pulling outside the loop that I've been able to find using sudo pico to open the file.
additionally, what do you mean with this comment about the "export SYSTEMINITDAEMON=upstart" before running the installer and avoid the need to alter the script at all? regardless of where I've cd'd into on my computer, I can't for the life of me get anything but an error using that code snippet, if used alone or in conjunction with running any of the .sh files in an attempt to install.
Could you please be more specific? I just need to get my second monitor working so I can actually be effective in my research, and I haven't been able to since ubuntu updated frOm 18.04.1 to 18.04.2.
SarahC214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.