Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Windows Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2019, 02:58 PM   #1
hba
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 22
Default Google Earth Pro (GEP) freeze when using Displaylink-displays

When using GEP on my laptop, without connecting my 2 external displays through Displaylink docking station, GEP starts normally. When connecting the external displays via Displaylink GEP starts but freezes before showing the globe. GEP version v7.1.8.3036 works just fine, but later versions don't. No reinstall or repair-tools has helped on this problem.

Displaylink vers. is 9.1M1. Win 10 vers. 1903, build 18362.86.

Any thoughts?

Last edited by hba; 05-12-2019 at 01:42 PM.
hba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 07:25 AM   #2
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,610
Arrow

Hello hba,
As you indicated it stopped working when you updated GEP, have you tried reporting the regression to the software vendor?
Regards,
Alban
__________________
Alban Rampon
Senior product manager, universal docking stations and accessories
"DisplayLink is proud to be a Synaptics brand. Our emails have changed to synaptics.com but our commitment to customers remain the same."

Where to download the latest Windows drivers
How to clean up a corrupted installation
How to report issues to DisplayLink for a speedy resolution
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 02:40 PM   #3
hba
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 22
Default

Hello Alban,
Thanx for Your reply.
Yes, the problem has been reported to Google, but I've gotten no response so far.
Regards,
Henrik
hba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 06:23 PM   #4
hba
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 22
Default

Thanx to Wim from DisplayLink Technical Support the problem is solved. Wim suspected Google Earth is not liking something when no native display is enabled. Wim proposed that I started GEP with the notebook monitor enabled. When enabling the notebooks monitor, together with the 2 external displays GEP starts normally. The best thing is: Even if I now disable the notebook monitor, GEP starts normally anyway!
Update: The procedure only works until pc is restarted or sleeps ;-(

Last edited by hba; 05-15-2019 at 06:08 PM.
hba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 03:26 PM   #5
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,610
Arrow

Hello,

Has this started to appear with Windows 10 v1903 our were you able to observe the issue before?
How many graphics card do you have in your computer?

I think it probably matters when you launch the application rather than before you reboot.
Once the application is started, I expect you to be able to change the primary display fine until you restart the application as I believe the issue could be listing the displays.

Kind regards,
Alban
__________________
Alban Rampon
Senior product manager, universal docking stations and accessories
"DisplayLink is proud to be a Synaptics brand. Our emails have changed to synaptics.com but our commitment to customers remain the same."

Where to download the latest Windows drivers
How to clean up a corrupted installation
How to report issues to DisplayLink for a speedy resolution
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 08:18 PM   #6
hba
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 22
Default

Hello Alban,

The problem started after vers. 1903 was installed.

It's also affecting Google Earth Web (browser-version) and Microsoft Solitaire and Mahjong, which starts but then closes before the programs are fully loaded. They all has to be started with the integrated display activated and set as primary display. When the programs are running, the integrated display kan be turned off and the external display set as primary. But if the program is closed it cannot be started again, unless the integrated display is turned on and set as primary. After reboot the whole process has to be runned again.

The laptop has 2 graphics-chips onboard, an Intel HD Graphics 4000 and a Nvidia GeForce GT 650M.
hba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2019, 08:56 AM   #7
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,610
Arrow

Hello,

Thank you for all that. It sounds like a bug identified in Windows 10 v1903.
There is a tentative fix in the Windows Insiders beta programme.
We are working with Microsoft to justify getting the fix serviced in Windows 10 v1903 via the monthly patch system.

Kind regards,
Alban
Ref: 30343
__________________
Alban Rampon
Senior product manager, universal docking stations and accessories
"DisplayLink is proud to be a Synaptics brand. Our emails have changed to synaptics.com but our commitment to customers remain the same."

Where to download the latest Windows drivers
How to clean up a corrupted installation
How to report issues to DisplayLink for a speedy resolution
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2019, 09:33 AM   #8
hba
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 22
Default

Hi Alban,

After installing the latest Windows Insider (18941.1001) the problem has disappeared.

Best regards,
Henrik
hba is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.