Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Linux and Open Source

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-27-2015, 07:56 PM   #21
stuguy909
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Default fresh PC

completely reloaded Debian with lxdm instead of kdm this time. Fresh system, absolutely nothing installed other than base packages, GUI, and SSH. downloaded you scripts. unzipped. installed:

Code:
displaylink-driver-1.0.68# ./displaylink-installer.sh install
DisplayLink Linux Software 1.0.68 install script called: install
Distribution discovered: Debian GNU/Linux 8.1 (jessie)
Init daemon detected : systemd
Linux Headers found : linux-headers-3.16.0-4-amd64
Installing
Configuring EVDI DKMS module
Registering EVDI kernel module with DKMS
Building EVDI kernel module with DKMS
Installing EVDI kernel module to kernel tree
EVDI kernel module built successfully
Installing x64/DisplayLinkManager
Installing libraries
Installing firmware packages
Installing license file
Adding udev rule for DisplayLink DL-3xxx/5xxx devices
Adding blacklist udlfb module
Starting DLM systemd service
I am rebooting now and we will see. My Dock is still unplugged, btw. I will plug in after reboot and booted into GUI.

Edit: I installed DKMS, of course.
stuguy909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2015, 08:04 PM   #22
stuguy909
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Default Drum Roll.......

Drum Roll.............

Had to start the displaymanager.service manually.

Code:
# systemctl start displaylink.service
# systemctl status displaylink.service
● displaylink.service - DisplayLink Manager Service
   Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/displaylink.service; static)
   Active: active (running) since Thu 2015-08-27 15:01:58 CDT; 6s ago
  Process: 1832 ExecStartPre=/sbin/modprobe evdi (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
 Main PID: 1837 (DisplayLinkMana)
   CGroup: /system.slice/displaylink.service
           └─1837 /usr/lib/displaylink/DisplayLinkManager

$ xrandr --listproviders
Providers: number : 3
Provider 0: id: 0x46 cap: 0xb, Source Output, Sink Output, Sink Offload crtcs: 3 outputs: 4 associated providers: 0 name:Intel
Provider 1: id: 0x12d cap: 0x2, Sink Output crtcs: 1 outputs: 1 associated providers: 0 name:modesetting
Provider 2: id: 0xfa cap: 0x2, Sink Output crtcs: 1 outputs: 1 associated providers: 0 name:modesetting
stuguy909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2015, 08:13 PM   #23
guerrierk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stuguy909 View Post
Drum Roll.............

Had to start the displaymanager.service manually.

Code:
# systemctl start displaylink.service
# systemctl status displaylink.service
● displaylink.service - DisplayLink Manager Service
   Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/displaylink.service; static)
   Active: active (running) since Thu 2015-08-27 15:01:58 CDT; 6s ago
  Process: 1832 ExecStartPre=/sbin/modprobe evdi (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
 Main PID: 1837 (DisplayLinkMana)
   CGroup: /system.slice/displaylink.service
           └─1837 /usr/lib/displaylink/DisplayLinkManager

$ xrandr --listproviders
Providers: number : 3
Provider 0: id: 0x46 cap: 0xb, Source Output, Sink Output, Sink Offload crtcs: 3 outputs: 4 associated providers: 0 name:Intel
Provider 1: id: 0x12d cap: 0x2, Sink Output crtcs: 1 outputs: 1 associated providers: 0 name:modesetting
Provider 2: id: 0xfa cap: 0x2, Sink Output crtcs: 1 outputs: 1 associated providers: 0 name:modesetting
Yeah! You can now use xrandr to set the new provider to your Intel (provider 0). After that, you should have your screen into screen manager.

Just a question : have you 2 displaylink connected ?

I work around a best detection method to start automatically the displaylink service. I will post when I found it.

If someone have any informations about it, it could be useful for me ;-)

Thx

Last edited by guerrierk; 08-27-2015 at 08:16 PM.
guerrierk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2015, 08:21 PM   #24
stuguy909
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Default Thanks

Thank you for the help. I do, however, want to identify the changes in your script in the Debian driver install that makes this process work in the Debian 8.1 driver install thread. I worked through a lot of steps, but I always hit a challenge at the next level. First it was the kernel header problem, Debian uses Makefile instead of Zbuild, that was easy enough, a simple symbolic link fixed that. Then there was the problem with the systeminitdaemon, which you found that there needed to be a systemd entry in the script because DisplayLink only supports Ubuntu setup at the moment. Then there was a problem with the blacklist, my system looked like it was doing everything correctly, but your configuration does it differently. I guess the overall process I did myself just wouldn't work for me. I just want to be sure, for the record, that everyone who reads this or my thread, they understand the overall process and what needs to be accomplished to get the driver working just in case they can't download a simple script.
stuguy909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2015, 08:42 PM   #25
guerrierk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stuguy909 View Post
Thank you for the help. I do, however, want to identify the changes in your script in the Debian driver install that makes this process work in the Debian 8.1 driver install thread. I worked through a lot of steps, but I always hit a challenge at the next level. First it was the kernel header problem, Debian uses Makefile instead of Zbuild, that was easy enough, a simple symbolic link fixed that. Then there was the problem with the systeminitdaemon, which you found that there needed to be a systemd entry in the script because DisplayLink only supports Ubuntu setup at the moment. Then there was a problem with the blacklist, my system looked like it was doing everything correctly, but your configuration does it differently. I guess the overall process I did myself just wouldn't work for me. I just want to be sure, for the record, that everyone who reads this or my thread, they understand the overall process and what needs to be accomplished to get the driver working just in case they can't download a simple script.
About the linux headers problem, I have modified the test in the script : it was a Kbuild file that was tested, but the path is different on debian and ubuntu. So I test if the package linux-headers for the current kernel is installed.

I have modified the check_distro method to set correctly the init daemon on debian.

I have added the blacklist udlfb module too.

At this time, the driver is correctly installed and is usable.

The configuration must be done manually by xrandr and the screen configuration in settings panel...

So the next steps are to load dynamically the displaylink service and set the new provider automatically (and maybe activate the screen at the left of current screen...)
guerrierk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2015, 09:16 PM   #26
stuguy909
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guerrierk View Post
So the next steps are to load dynamically the displaylink service and set the new provider automatically (and maybe activate the screen at the left of current screen...)
Yes. Currently, this is not hot pluggable. I had hell testing this. I had to use xrandr to set my laptop screen to provider 0 0 before I reconnected the DisplayLink docking station. Then I had to re-run the xrandr setprovider stuff and use the system monitor settings program to reactivate and reposition my screens. What a pain! I haven't tested a reboot yet....
stuguy909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 06:49 AM   #27
drndrn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1
Default

thanks for your work, really appreciate
drndrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 09:43 PM   #28
runejuhl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1
Thumbs up Minor fix for init system detection + thanks

Hi guerrierk,

Thanks for the script. Worked beautifully on Debian stretch. I noticed it didn't detect my init system, so I made a small patch for you. Any reason why you haven't used BitBucket/GitHub/own git/etc. for it?

Anyway, thanks again. Now to figure out how to get my brand new ASUS MB168+ to fully work under Linux -- missing autorotate and brightness settings...

Hm. For some reason the forum software chokes on the patch, so I'm unable to submit it in cleartext. I've base64-encoded the patch instead...

Code: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=
runejuhl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 07:29 AM   #29
guerrierk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by runejuhl View Post
Hi guerrierk,

Thanks for the script. Worked beautifully on Debian stretch. I noticed it didn't detect my init system, so I made a small patch for you. Any reason why you haven't used BitBucket/GitHub/own git/etc. for it?

Anyway, thanks again. Now to figure out how to get my brand new ASUS MB168+ to fully work under Linux -- missing autorotate and brightness settings...

Hm. For some reason the forum software chokes on the patch, so I'm unable to submit it in cleartext. I've base64-encoded the patch instead...

Code: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=
Hi runejuhl,

Thanks for your patch. I have updated my script and re-uploaded it. I'm still working on other features.
guerrierk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 08:21 AM   #30
AtoutSerenite
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1
Default

Has anyone worked out the permission problem on the download? Do you have to post before downloading?
AtoutSerenite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
debian

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.