Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Windows Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2012, 07:48 PM   #1
mbroge
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Default Max Resolution Incorrect

I have a 3-display setup using DisplayLink for display #3. The other two are attached to the PC (a Lenovo 0266-A23) via native ports on the device, and are working properly. The DisplayLink display does not offer the correct native resolution (1920x1080); it instead only shows 1680x1050 as the max and thus is a bit fuzzier than displays 1 and 2.

This has occurred on two separate Lenovo PCs, both running Windows 7. The graphics and monitor drivers are current and have been reinstalled; the DisplayLink core software has also been installed clean on both PCs.

I have also swapped out DVI cables so it is not a cabling issue, and since it has occurred on two separate PCs, I strongly doubt it is a software issue. Why am I unable to get the native resolution on my third display?

If this question has been answered before, my apologies, I searched the forums and did not find any resolution.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Monitor3.jpg (95.2 KB, 2 views)
mbroge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 10:27 AM   #2
Wim
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,564
Default

Different DisplayLink devices support different maximum resolutions. You probably either have:

1. A device based on the DL-160, that does not support 1920x1080 or
2. A device based on the DL-165, and the monitor actually supports 1920x1080, but the monitors native resolution is 1920x1200, which is not supported by the DL-165.

If you can post your logs, I can see what modes your device supports and what modes the monitor supports.

Wim

Wim
Wim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 06:11 PM   #3
mbroge
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Which logs are you looking for? Oddly the device itself does not have any identifying information similar to what you've described, but if you can tell me what logs you're looking for I will be glad to post them.

The LG display has a native resolution of 1920x1080, so I'm guessing the limitation is hardware-based. It is model W2246.

Last edited by mbroge; 05-17-2012 at 07:09 PM.
mbroge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 01:50 PM   #4
Wim
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,564
Default

Please post the logs as described here:

http://kb.displaylink.com/269
Wim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 06:37 PM   #5
mbroge
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Default

As requested!
Attached Files
File Type: zip BNISX04W04_20120518_133447.zip (339.9 KB, 2 views)
mbroge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 06:57 PM   #6
dhtobey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Default Similar problem with Diamond MM BVUMD3 and HP ZR2740 display

I am having a similar problem with my external Diamond MM BVUMD3 and an HP 27" IPS display. While I can understand if the top resolution is not supported, I would hope I could at least get 1900x1080.

Thanks in advance for your support.

I have attached my log
Attached Files
File Type: zip DHTSRJ3500_20120519_134945.zip (431.3 KB, 1 views)
dhtobey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 01:06 PM   #7
Wim
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,564
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroge View Post
As requested!
Your adapter contains the DL-160, which has a maximum resolution of 1680x1050. This is why 1920x1080 is not available.

Wim
Wim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 01:09 PM   #8
Wim
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,564
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhtobey View Post
I am having a similar problem with my external Diamond MM BVUMD3 and an HP 27" IPS display. While I can understand if the top resolution is not supported, I would hope I could at least get 1900x1080.

Thanks in advance for your support.

I have attached my log
The monitor you have connected only reports 2 supported modes:

Display Modes
=============
1280x720x24@60
2560x1440x24@60

As the top mode is not supported by your adapter, 1280x720 will be the highest resolution available for this display.

Wim
Wim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 03:15 PM   #9
mbroge
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks Wim, I had received only the adapter from our inventory guru, no specs or manual included. Good to know it's not some weird Windows thing or software issue.
mbroge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
incorrect, max, native, resolution, wrong

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.