Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Windows Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-03-2016, 05:32 PM   #1
PLS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2
Default DisplayLink adapter does not show the whole display

Hello,

i am using the USB to HDMI/VGA DisplayLink adapter of Lenovo with the newest Win10 and the ThinkPad L460.

When I want to connect my display with HDMI to the TV, I only see background image and the task bar. So I do not see desktop icons and any programs I started like a browser.

Can anyone tell me how to solve this problem please?

Thank you very mich!
Best regards
PLS
PLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2016, 03:15 PM   #2
AlbanRampon
DisplayLink Tech Support
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,419
Arrow

Hello,

This is probably because you are using extended desktop and your displays are not duplicated/cloned.

Here is an article on how to use the Windows settings to use this feature.

Multiple Displays - Change Settings and Layout in Windows 10

Regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2016, 04:45 PM   #3
PLS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2
Default

Hello,

no, I am not usind extended desktop,
Do you have another idea?

Thank you
PLS
PLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2016, 04:50 PM   #4
AlbanRampon
DisplayLink Tech Support
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,419
Arrow

Hello PLS,

What are you using?
Could you please post a photo so I can better understand what is taking place?

Kind regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 02:02 PM   #5
Hamurabi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 12
Angry Same problem here

Hi!

Looks like I'm in a similar situation.

After the 1607 upgrade, and DL M2 driver, I installed the latest Intel HD driver (win64_154028.4501).

The current situation is, I can't swith to "External display only" becouse I can only see the background image and the task bar. I can't see the mouse pointer, and nothing move or animate. Like a screenshoot.

But.

If I switched back to the "Clone display" mode, everything working fine. I can see the whole desktop, twice. :-). "Extending display" also working as expected.

And the LAGS... Horrible.
Hamurabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 02:51 PM   #6
AlbanRampon
DisplayLink Tech Support
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,419
Default

The external display only issue is likely to be the OS one we have been dealing with under the thread called with lag in the title. The fact you only see the issue in replace mode seems to confirm it is the same problem.
We are waiting for the OS fix to be back-ported to Windows 10 v1607. It has been rolled out on Windows Insiders Program who use the next version of Windows 10.
For DisplayLink driver, there is no difference if we are the only monitor, or if there are 1+ panels connected to the graphics card.
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 07:19 PM   #7
jkramer1996
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 3
Default Resolution Problem As Well

After the most recent Windows update I experienced the same problem with not seeing the taskbar. However, it is possible to guess where the icons are and click on them. The resolution on my monitors has also been affected. Text now appears pixelated and photo quality is diminished. How long until fix. This is miserable to work on. Other company users are having similar problems with the same D3100 since Windows upgrade.
jkramer1996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 03:53 PM   #8
AlbanRampon
DisplayLink Tech Support
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,419
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkramer1996 View Post
After the most recent Windows update I experienced the same problem with not seeing the taskbar. However, it is possible to guess where the icons are and click on them. The resolution on my monitors has also been affected. Text now appears pixelated and photo quality is diminished. How long until fix. This is miserable to work on. Other company users are having similar problems with the same D3100 since Windows upgrade.
Hello, from what I read in the other posts, they can all see the Taskbar.
Having the logs as described in my forum signature along with a photo (from mobile phone for instance) and a screenshot (from using Print Screen key) will be necessary to progress as I have not seen such report from anyone using a monitor. TV would need over scan disabled as they naturally zoom in from the old days of analogue broadcasts on CRT.

Kind regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 04:02 PM   #9
jkramer1996
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 3
Default Overscan, poor resolution, lagging

The overscan setting fixed the primary issue as I am using 32-inch Samsung TVs. However, the resolution is still poor and system lagging some. Did not have these issues before the recent Windows 10 upgrade.
Attached Files
File Type: zip JONATHAN40-PC_20160929_074246.zip (690.7 KB, 2 views)
jkramer1996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 04:14 PM   #10
AlbanRampon
DisplayLink Tech Support
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,419
Arrow

Thank you for the logs.
It looks like the computer and dock believe they are sending the resolution the monitor advertises supporting. 1920x1080p60 (@148.50 MHz)
Would you please be able to send me the photo so I can have an idea of where the issue is coming from?
Also, what configuration/layout are you using? (replace, duplicate, replace) You can paste a screenshot of the Windows Display Settings if you wish as it may be simpler than explaining.
Regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
displaylink, windows 10

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.