Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Linux and Open Source

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2018, 03:45 PM   #1
haalmaguer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1
Angry DisplayLink CPU USAGE CRITICAL UBUNTU 16.04

i7-8550U CPU @ 1.80GHz Cache: 8192 KB Cores: 4
Installed RAM: 16135300 kB
Attached Files
File Type: zip -XPS_2018-03-05T10:40:59.791604.zip (341.3 KB, 1 views)
haalmaguer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 10:23 AM   #2
rpb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 3
Default

Same for me. Why is this not being dealt with? I'll post a report next time it happens. (Just rebooted)
rpb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 12:39 PM   #3
rpb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 3
Default

This is the result of running DisplayLink Linux Support Tool 1.2.17

Displaylink is slowing down my entire machine to a crawl. This is terrible.
Attached Files
File Type: zip mordin_2018-04-09T14:37:32.724112.zip (1.38 MB, 1 views)
rpb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 02:29 PM   #4
JB_Harris
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 1
Default CPU acting as GPU

I think this will always be a problem when you're doing video rendering in software vs on hardware (GPU). I'm not an expert, but I'm fairly certain that all of the frame rendering, window treatments & management, shadows, transparency, positioning, etc... on these DisplayLink devices has to be done by the HOST PC's CPU and then transferred as raw frames/bitmaps to the monitor....I don't think anything can be offloaded to the screen to handle since the interface just doesn't understand it.

It reminds me of the old "WinModems" from back in the late 90s. They were modems where all of the modulation & signal processing was done in the CPU instead of onboard microprocessors. This made them very cheap, but it meant they weren't compatible with other operating systems, and it meant that you had to have a relatively fast CPU in order to handle higher speeds (like 56k).

Trade offs.
JB_Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 09:56 AM   #5
rpb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 3
Default

So basically DisplayLink is a terrible idea.

I guess we'll have to get displayport enabled monitors and ditch DisplayLink forever.
rpb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 07:20 PM   #6
markd89
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 1
Default

Subscribing to see a hopeful fix. There's no reason why this should suck CPU under Linux but not under Windows.
markd89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 03:54 PM   #7
Borszczuk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 3
Default

Guys, check my post on similar problem with high load: https://displaylink.org/forum/showthread.php?p=86255 and see if this approach gives any relief
Borszczuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.