DisplayLink Forum

DisplayLink Forum (https://displaylink.org/forum/index.php)
-   Windows Software (https://displaylink.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   No Sound via HDMI (https://displaylink.org/forum/showthread.php?t=64435)

chrizzleee 03-16-2016 02:20 PM

No Sound via HDMI
 
Hey,

I recently got the problem that i don't get any sound on my tv via hdmi with my display link docking station. i only get sound when i plug in my speakers in the docking station.
before the problem, i disconnected my speakers and display link automatically switched to the hdmi output. now when i do that, it tells me that there is nothing connected to the usb audio output.

I have a Acer Laptop with a Intel Core i7, NVIDIA Geforce GTX 950M, USB 3.0 and I'm running Windows 10.

I installed the newest Driver (Display Link 7.9 M5) and I also tried to Reinstall it with the DisplayLinkCleaner.

Thank you for your help!

JamesH 03-29-2016 04:14 PM

Hi,

Could you reproduce this issue and then attach the logs from this tool?
http://support.displaylink.com/knowl...rticles/533818

Thanks,
James

Evening Jazz 08-21-2016 01:43 PM

No Sound on TV via HDMI on Dynadock 3.0
 
Hi chrizzleee,

I was just curious, were you able to resolve your issue with no sound on your TV via HDMI?

I'm having a similar problem whereby I get no sound on my LG TV, which is connected via an HDMI cable to my Dynadock 3.0 docking station. Video is A-OK, but zero sound. Further, HDMI audio doesn't show up in the list of playback devices on Windows.

Thanks mate!

AlbanRampon 08-23-2016 05:39 PM

EveningJazz,
Similarly, we would need the tool results to comment on what may or may not occur.
Kind regards,
Alban

whataguywants 08-31-2016 02:12 AM

No HDMI Audio through Dell D3100
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hi I am having a similar problem. I am trying to connect my JMB TV to my Dell Inspiron 7559 through the D3100 docking station. I have a picture but no audio. There is no HDMI option in the Windows 10 sound device manager. When I connect the TV directly into the laptop I have no problem with audio.

I have run the windows displaylin support tool and attach the log.

AlbanRampon 08-31-2016 02:57 PM

Hi WhatGuyWants,

The audio output on the Dell D3100 is called "Dell USB Audio".
I can see it is present in Device Manager, could you paste a screenshot of your playback setting window?
http://support.displaylink.com/knowl...rticles/544858

Kind regards,
Alban

whataguywants 08-31-2016 04:25 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Hi Alban,

The screenshot I have posted is of my playback devices with my Sony AV Receiver DH-520 plugged directly into the HDMI port of my laptop. As you can see the Sony AVAMP audio is present. The problem is when I plug the Sony directly into the D3100 the Sony AVAMP disappears.

I have also attached another log which I produced with the Sony device plugged directly into my laptop.

Thanks & Regards

AlbanRampon 08-31-2016 05:09 PM

Hey David,

It's normal you don't see the Sony anymore: it's not connected to your computer but to the dock. You've added an intermediary device.
The Dell D3100 will route the audio to the DisplayPort, HDMI 0, HDMI 1, back jack or front audio jack depending on what is connected. It doesn't create 5 outputs though as the list would be overwhelming for the standard office user, and because Dell has assigned output priorities: plugging something at the front will disable other outputs (= headphone privacy).

Could you please paste the playback settings screenshot when everything is connected as you wish it to work?
Also, can you tell what is connected on which plugs on the Dell D3100.

Kind regards,
Alban

whataguywants 08-31-2016 10:33 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Hi Alban,

I have set up the D3100 how I would like it and pasted the playback settings. I have the Sony AV Receiver in HDMI 0, a iiyama monitor in HDMI 1, nothing in the DisplayPort, pc stereo speakers in the back jack. I also have a Logitech camera and a Logitech unifying dongle in the two rear USB 2.0 plugs and an internet connection to the LAN port. I have nothing in the front plugs.

I use the iiyama as my main monitor and I assumed that I could route the audio to the Sony amp to watch movies on my TV simplyu by selecting it in the playback settings as my default device. Is this not possible?

Thanks & regards.

AlbanRampon 09-01-2016 11:43 AM

Hi David,

You have selected the Dell USB Audio as default output, that's how to do this.

The Dell D3100 routes the sound to multiple outputs simultaneously so, unlike the dedicated graphics card sound adapter, it won't take the name of your amplifier as it can't take multiple names. It would be a bit overwhelming to get 5 new audio devices (2 HDMI, 1 DP, 2 jacks) just for the dock anyway...

If you don't get any sound on the Sony receiver, can you try removing the jack to see if that enables it?
I'm not sure how Dell implemented the audio on their dock.

Kind regards,
Alban


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.