PDA

View Full Version : Debian (Jessie/Stretch/Sid) installer


fooctrl
11-30-2015, 05:04 AM
I made DisplayLink Debian driver installer which I'd like to share with everyone.

displaylink-debian

Tool which allows you to seamlessly install and uninstall DisplayLink drivers on Debian GNU/Linux.

Installer is available on Github (https://github.com/AdnanHodzic/displaylink-debian).

Supported platforms are:


Debian: Jessie/Stretch/Sid regardless of which kernel version you’re using.

displaylink-debian licence is GPLv3 and if you’d like to add any changes or to extend it to any other distribution then Debian, be my guest!

Please let me know if you have any additional questions and/or comments.

ysli
12-18-2015, 12:05 AM
Hello fooctrl,

An update of displaylink-debian for driver 1.0.335 is available on Github (https://github.com/yishinli/displaylink-debian).
A PR is issued; please consider merging it.

-Yishin

AdriaanNel
01-24-2016, 07:48 PM
Hi,

Would this setup work on Linux Mint 17.3 - I really want to switch to linux, but must be able to use my docking station, so I just want to make sure before going through the effort of formatting, etc.

Thanks for your work on this, this is the only thing keeping me away from linux...

fooctrl
01-31-2016, 05:00 PM
With latest version of script, Ubuntu is also supported (>=15.04 to <=16.04).

However, there's no support for Mint right now. Due to the reason that Mint still uses Upstart, while this script support anything that's running on Systemd.

AntiNSA
02-01-2016, 05:31 AM
has anyone gotten the proprietary ati drivers to work with this? Im on ubuntu 15.10 and using 2 mb168+ and can only get display link to work with open source drivers. It seems I am missing out on hardware acceleration so Id like to use the proprietary drivers. When running vm on screens huge lag...


Id limke to use the propriatary fglx /radeon/ati drivers and displaylink at the same time instead of running the opensource driver. Everything works with the opensource driver, though I think I am missing out on harware acceleration.

gudbes
04-06-2016, 02:57 PM
Hi,

I download and install the package. All's right for installation. But after, my screen connected in the adapter is not recognized. I am in Gnome. Help me ^^

Thx

gudbes


edit : Sorry for my english

fooctrl
04-09-2016, 12:28 PM
@gudbes - did you refer to Post Installation Guide (https://github.com/AdnanHodzic/displaylink-debian/blob/master/post-install-guide.md)?

gudbes
04-09-2016, 01:36 PM
thx very much fooctrl it's all right.

fooctrl
04-09-2016, 02:24 PM
thx very much fooctrl it's all right.

happy to hear that! :)

Knowbody
05-18-2016, 06:24 AM
With latest version of script, Ubuntu is also supported (>=15.04 to <=16.04).

However, there's no support for Mint right now. Due to the reason that Mint still uses Upstart, while this script support anything that's running on Systemd.It's possible to have systemd installed on mint though, so you could just run a check to see if it's running systemd.

*edit*
Just looking through the official install script, it looks like it does detect and support both upstart and systemd (this is from version 1.1.62):
detect_init_daemon()
{
INIT=$(readlink /proc/1/exe)
if [ "$INIT" == "/sbin/init" ]; then
INIT=$(/sbin/init --version)
fi

[ -z "${INIT##*upstart*}" ] && SYSTEMINITDAEMON="upstart"
[ -z "${INIT##*systemd*}" ] && SYSTEMINITDAEMON="systemd"

if [ -z "$SYSTEMINITDAEMON" ]; then
echo "ERROR: the installer script is unable to find out how to start DisplayLinkManager service automatically on your system." >&2
echo "Please set an environment variable SYSTEMINITDAEMON to 'upstart' or 'systemd' before running the installation script to force one of the options." >&2
echo "Installation terminated." >&2
exit 1
fi
}And the install function calls a couple of different functions depending on whether systemd or upstart is used:

if [ "upstart" == "$SYSTEMINITDAEMON" ]; then
echo "Starting DLM upstart job"
add_upstart_script
add_pm_script "upstart"
start displaylink
elif [ "systemd" == "$SYSTEMINITDAEMON" ]; then
echo "Starting DLM systemd service"
add_systemd_service
add_pm_script "systemd"
systemctl start displaylink.service
fi


It just doesn't support sysvinit

fooctrl
05-18-2016, 11:48 AM
Please add which version of Mint you're using and I'll extend the support for Mint as well (https://github.com/AdnanHodzic/displaylink-debian/issues/4)

gudbes
05-24-2016, 08:08 AM
hi everybody,

For a few days, i have this error message :

gudbes@pcx:~$ su -c "systemctl start displaylink.service"
Mot de passe :
Failed to start displaylink.service: Unit displaylink.service failed to load: No such file or directory.

Do you have an idea for me :)

thx

gudbes

edit i'm on debian Jessie
gudbes@pcx:~$ uname -a
Linux pcx 4.5.0-0.bpo.2-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.5.3-2~bpo8+1 (2016-05-13) x86_64 GNU/Linux

fooctrl
05-24-2016, 02:01 PM
@gudbes, it seems like something went wrong with your install. Could you please "git pull" to update to latest version.

Then run "displaylink-debian" select "uninstall" and after it's done please reboot. After that run the tool again and select "install" and reboot after it's installed.

After successful install systemd should start displaylink.service automatically.

If you still have problems after that please submit an issue on: https://github.com/AdnanHodzic/displaylink-debian/issues:

gudbes
05-25-2016, 03:46 PM
ok thx It's all right.

yco
06-28-2017, 01:24 PM
Hi,
The installation of the latest patch went without any problem.
Yet, after installation and post-install procedures, my second screen is recognized and i can set it up with xrandr/arandr etc.

The problem is that the screen is frozen, it displays either a black screen or a fixed image of what my main display was displaying at the time of the set up.

Has anyone encountered such a problem?

Regards,
Yoann

I'm on a DELL XPS 13" (9350), running Debian stretch (9.0) on a 4.9.0-3-amd64 linux kernel.

EDIT: didn't see the related issue on github, where it seems to be related to intel graphic cards: issue#68 (https://github.com/AdnanHodzic/displaylink-debian/issues/68)
I am testing, will update the post if it works for me.

gudbes
06-28-2017, 01:57 PM
Hello,

Sorry but i never had this problem.

After used this command : ./displaylink-debian.sh for the installation, i use this 2 commands only :

# xrandr --setprovideroutputsource 1 0
# gnome-control-center display

I hope that help you.

Good luck

yco
06-28-2017, 02:32 PM
Indeed, that was linked to the Intel graphic card.
The solution to the 'black screen issue' can be found here: adangel's comment (https://github.com/AdnanHodzic/displaylink-debian/issues/68#issuecomment-301232674)

After rebooting, deplug replug the DL dock and follow the post-install instructions as usual!

Thanks