dbhc
08-12-2015, 03:50 PM
I got it working on Elementary OS: Freya
Here are the steps I took.

1. Update the distribution.
2. run:
sudo ./displaylink-driver-xxxxx.run --keep --noexec
3. edit the install script to have DLM upstart job run outside the if statement
(step 3 was necessary as neither if statement would trigger for me.)

Best of luck!

muffinjello
12-15-2015, 01:09 AM
I got it working on Elementary OS: Freya
Here are the steps I took.

1. Update the distribution.
2. run:
sudo ./displaylink-driver-xxxxx.run --keep --noexec
3. edit the install script to have DLM upstart job run outside the if statement
(step 3 was necessary as neither if statement would trigger for me.)

Best of luck!

I'm new to elementary OS and I don't know what to do next, to tell the computer to install the script.
I edit the .sh script to contain:.. (line 270-ish)
echo "Adding udev rule for DisplayLink DL-3xxx/5xxx devices"
add_udev_rule
echo "Starting DLM upstart job - OUTSIDE IF STATEMENT @CUSTOM EDIT"
add_upstart_script
add_pm_script "upstart"
start displaylink
if [ "upstart" == "$SYSTEMINITDAEMON" ]; then
echo "Starting DLM upstart job"
add_upstart_script
add_pm_script "upstart"
start displaylink
elif [ "systemd" == "$SYSTEMINITDAEMON" ]; then
echo "Starting DLM systemd service"
add_systemd_service
add_pm_script "systemd"
systemctl start displaylink.service
fi

However, doing the fancy chmod +x on the shell script and running it, does nothing. Executing the original .run appears to execute the original (unfixed) file, and I can't execute a folder.

Please, tell me what you did. :S

dbhc
12-15-2015, 01:29 AM
hey,

it's been a while so I'm grainy on the details but if I'm remembering correctly, all I did was take the
echo "Starting DLM upstart job"
add_upstart_script
add_pm_script "upstart"
start displaylink

outside of the if statement (cut and paste before the if statement). So, it no longer checks "upstart" == "$SYSTEMINITDAEMON".